If You Could See What I Hear

Chapter 13: One Week Later

Notes:
I mentioned that Donna would be back a couple of times…three to be exact. I also said that some things would occur which would help Jensen become independent. To me, this one one of them.

Chapter Text

The two men had a busy week. Jensen took Gus with him to school. Numerous times, between classes, Jensen and Gus explored the campus. He actually stayed during practice on two evenings. Two other nights he stayed at the Art complex and worked on his project. Friday afternoon, he finished the last touches and polished the marble.

Ellen entered the classroom and walked over to the table. Jensen had a soft smile on his face. She stood quietly beside the young sculptor and gaze upon the project.

“Jensen, I am entering this in the annual art contest. This is too good not to.”

There was a look of panic on the man’s face. “Ellen, I’m not good enough for that.”

“If you weren’t good enough for the contest, I would not have hired you to teach the sculpting classes. I will do it on Monday. The awards ceremony is on Friday, the 30th of the month.”

“But…”

“Don’t thank me. You represent this campus and an award winning sculptor teaching our students would be a plus over other schools.”

“Yes, Ma’am.”

+++++

Jared drove to town to pick up doughnuts and a brisket. He planned to barbecue. The two men were still tired from a week of long hours. Jensen sat in the family room and curled up on the large cushioned sofa with Gus. He was reading “Hiawatha” in braille.

The doorbell rang, and the man and his dog went to answer the door. Donna Ackles and a man were waiting on the patio.

“Hello,” Jensen said when he opened the door

“Jensen,” Donna replied.

The smile left the younger man’s face and he stood at the door.

“Have you lost your manners since you moved out or are you going to let us in?”

“Us? Who’s with you?

“Carl Mercer, Jensen. You remember me from church I’m sure. We’ve been missing you.”

“I haven’t started looking for my own church yet. Will you come in?”

The two visitors sat in the recliners in the family room and looked at the young man. Donna’s eyes took in the room and she finally noticed Gus.

“Ah…a dog. I guess your friend has a love for them.”

“My friend is named Jared and Gus is my dog.”

“Your dog? Well, you can’t keep him. I wont allow a dog in the house. They are flea bitten and mangy.”

“I’m not coming home, Mother.”

“After you hear what Carl has to say, you will.”

At this moment, Jared came in by the side door and stood still listening to the conversation.

“You have nothing either of you can say that will make me change my mind.”.

“I had Carl investigate Jared.”

“You had no right to do that. Maybe I should have my attorney investigate you. You robbed me of quite a bit of money. You need to send my attorney a certified bank check for the entire amount and I won’t press charges.”.

“How dare you? I’m your mother. I’m entitled to that money.”

“I paid room and board. You weren’t entitled to any of it. Did you honestly think I wouldn’t find out.”

“You should not be speaking to me like that. This Jared is a bad influence on you.”

“I don’t care what you think about Jared. He’s the first friend I’ve ever had and he’s helped me in more ways than you ever have.”

“You don’t need to live with a gay, Jensen. It will ruin your reputation.”

At this point, Jared’s eyebrows raised. He walked into the family room. It grew quiet.

“First off, I’m bi, not gay. Second, you had no right to investigate me. My attorney will take care of this. I have the best money can buy.”

Mercer stood up. “Mr. Padalecki, Jensen has never been away from home. He needs the guidance and the steady home life. Someone of your caliber would not be able to give him that.”

Jensen stood up and shouted at both of them, “I am twenty-six years old and I have a very good paying job. I don’t need my Mother to run my life. I can choose where I live, who I live with, and what kind of life I expose myself to. Jared and I are just friends but if I wanted to have a relationship with him, I would. I would not care that it was gay. Now, I pay part of the bills here, so this is my house too. Get…the…Hell….out!”

“Jensen!”

“Now. Don’t ever come back unless I ask you to.”

The two people left the room in a hurry. Jared heard the door slam and grinned. He walked over to the trembling man and pulled him into his arms and held him close. His lips touched Jensen’s forehead in a very none romantic kiss. The older man took it as it was given…comfort.

“Why don’t we have coffee and doughnuts and then prepare the barbecue?”

“That sounds good.”

“Jen?”

“Yes?”

“Thank you.”

“You’re my dearest friend, Jared. You’re the best thing to ever happen to me.”

“I feel the same about you.”

Gus tried to stick his cold nose between the two men. They pulled apart and both knelt down to pet the dog.

Leave a Reply

