The Baron’s Prize

Summary:

Jensen Ackles is the younger son and remaining heir to the Ackles Dukedom at Avenleigh in the country of Saven. He worked as a spy for his king, who did not accept his warnings. He heads north to protect his father’s estate and to ride out the war. Jared leads the invasion that brings conquerors to the land of Saven. His next meeting with Ackles will have consequences which will lead to a war between the two men at Avenleigh.

I do not own nor do I make money from Supernatural.

Notes:

I wish to thank my daughter, LadyLaran of AO3, for her wonderful beta work.

(See the end of the work for more notes.)

Chapter 1: The King’s spy

Chapter Text

The party had been going on for hours, and the younger man who sat in the corner nursing an ale kept a close eye on the participants. He smiled as each drunken reveler managed his way towards the rooms set aside for all of them.

General Morgan finished his rum and tried to rise from his seat at the head of the table. The man in the corner smiled and rose to his feet.

“May I help you, General?”

Brown eyes looked up into the deep green ones that stared down at the drunken leader.

“You’re still sober, Ackles?”

“Someone needs to be, Sir. May I help you?”

The leader slurred his words but managed another comment which the other man took as a yes. It took the two men a good fifteen minutes to reach the general’s chambers.

Lady Morgan answered the knock and smiled. She shook her head and led the two men to the bedroom where she helped the sober one strip her husband before getting him into bed and covering him with a blanket.

Leading the younger man to the exit, Mary Morgan looked up at him and thanked him.

“It’s no problem, my Lady,” the soft voice answered.

+++++

A lone rider rode into the castle’s courtyard, and a large man dismounted. He led his horse to the stable and was met by a stableboy.

“He needs to be rubbed down, fed, and watered. He’s been ridden far today,” a tired voice spoke as a small coin was placed in the boy’s hand.

Watching his horse being led away, the man yawned and turned to enter the keep. The guards did not disturb him as he passed.

Climbing the stairs, the man stopped when he saw what looked like a light beneath the door of the war room. He moved quietly and stood by the door and listened. There was no sound to be heard.

His hand reached down and grabbed the latch. Opening the door, he saw a candle burning on the table and a young man reading maps.

“Who are you, and what are you doing here?”

The young man froze and stared at him.

“My name is Jensen Ackles. I serve General Morgan, and I was trying to get a better understanding of the attack plans.”

“I don’t know you, but I know the name. I cannot imagine an Ackles serving Morgan. Again, what are you doing here?”

Ackles remained incredibly calm for a man caught in the war room where he should not be. The tall man walked to the table and sat down.

“What are you doing here,” he asked a third time. Jensen detected the change in the timbre of his voice and tried to relax so he could ease the man’s concerns about him.

“You have me at a disadvantage, Sir.”

“I am Baron Jared Padalecki.”

The nobleman noted a slight tic near Ackle’s left eye.

“I came here to serve Morgan.”

“Why? Your father is quite the king’s man.”

“The king wants my father’s son for more than a bedwarmer,” came the unexpected answer.

“Were you privy to the campaign planning?”

“Yes, I was. I know the area better than anyone here.”

Jared sighed, “I will see you at breakfast, and we will discuss it with Morgan.”

“I guess that means I need to leave?”

“I would advise it,” the Baron warned.

The exhausted traveler watched the other man rise and head towards the door. He walked gracefully for one with bowed legs. He could not get a good look at the man’s face. The candle had allowed him to see movement such as the tic, but nothing specific to aid in identifying him.

+++++
The next morning, Baron Padalecki conferred with his general and was told that Ackles had left during the night. The larger man swore and told his leader they were compromised.

Leave a Reply

